We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

MuteResponse #1

by NominalMusics

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £3 GBP




MuteResponse provides a unique tribute to the legacy of pioneering label Mute Records.

Released as a double compilation download album by NominalMusics, MuteResponse includes twenty-one tracks from a range of artists who have been influenced by this pioneering imprint.

Focussing on the importance of Mute in the development of electronic music, from post-punk industrial noise through to pop and techno, the albums include contributions from producer Gareth Jones, D-R-U-N-K (MOTOR's Oly Grasset), Simon Fisher Turner collaborator Espen J. Jörgensen with Rupert Lally, and Vic Twenty. Elsewhere, Jonteknik offers a playful tribute to Erasure's Vince Clarke, Thee Balancer pays homage to Throbbing Gristle's Peter Christopherson, while London unit The SFTs provide a personal message to Mute's founder, Daniel Miller.

MuteResponse was compiled by music journalist and Mute fan Mat Smith to coincide with the tenth anniversary of his Documentary Evidence website. 'I wanted to find a way of highlighting just how important Mute has been for electronic music,' says Smith. 'It would have been really easy to ask for straight cover versions of Mute's best moments but I really wanted to find a way of capturing the essence of what the label means to people instead. In the end I did agree to one cover version being included [MO75's beautiful instrumental take on Depeche Mode's 'See You']. It's a real mixture of dark and light, which was one of the things I really wanted to showcase.'

'Mute has meant so much to me,' concludes Smith, 'and I was genuinely overwhelmed at how many like-minded people there were out there who wanted to be part of this project.'

The compilations consist of exclusive tracks created just for the albums, unreleased tracks and tracks from recent releases that suited the theme of the project.

All proceeds from the sales of MuteResponse will be donated to charity.


released November 4, 2013

Compiled by Mat Smith for Documentary Evidence and NominalMusics.

Mastered by Chris Sharp (Concretism).

All tracks (c) the artists. This compilation (c) 2013 NominalMusics.

Artwork (c) Espen J. Jörgensen after an original design by Mat Smith.

Special thanks to Dave Fleet, Chris Skerik, Chris Sharp, Andy Sturmey, Jürgen Mayer and Jorge Punaro for their help, advice and support.


all rights reserved



NominalMusics Woburn Sands, UK

contact / help

Contact NominalMusics

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like NominalMusics, you may also like: